The Surrey Teachers’ Association has been in existence since 1941 and is a union of professionals representing approximately 5000 public school teachers in Surrey, British Columbia, Canada. The first President of the Surrey Teacher’s Association was William Davidson in 1941. During the 1941-42 school year, F. McKinnon became President of the Association.


In 1974, Surrey teachers, led by their president Lloyd Edwards, walked off the job, traveled to Victoria and protested on the class size issue. This pressured the government of the day to negotiate with the BCTF a commitment to reduce the Pupil Teacher Ratio in the province by one in each of the next three years. This had a dramatic impact on class sizes as the PTR went from 22.68 in 1972/73 to 16.70 in 1981/82 and thousands of new teachers were added to the school system. The Surrey Teachers’ Association was incorporated as a society on June 27, 1975. Doris Hahn was the Associations’ President at this time.

Following legislation, 98 to 99 percent of BC teachers, including teachers in Surrey, voted to become members of the BC Teachers’ Federation. The Surrey Teachers’ Association became a local of the BCTF on November 7, 1987. David Chudnovsky was the President of the STA during this time and later went on to become the President of the BCTF from 1999 to 2003. Our history is closely connected to the history of the BCTF.  For more information about the BCTF, go to:

Past Surrey Teachers’ Association Presidents:

1941-42           William Davidson       F. McKinnon
1942-43           Geraldine Mockridge
1943-44           Betty Huff
1946-47           John McCharles
1947-48           Alex Goheen
1949-50           Jake Friesen
1951-52           Wes Janzen
1952-53           Mildred Watts
1953-54           George Greenaway
1954-55           Garnet Gibson
1955-56           George Wilson
1956-57           Vern Ardiel
1957-58           Thane Fetroe
1958-59           M. Molloy
1959-60           John Lakiotis
1960-61           Harold Sinclair
1961-62           Tom Russell
1962-63           Bryce Waters
1963-64           Joan Parolin
1964-65           Dave Dunnison
1965-66           Eric T. Tongue
1966-67           Brian Hamilton
1967-68           Kurt Birkenthal
1968-69           Jay N. Stibbs
1969-70           George Vickery
1970-72           James Sullivan
1972-73           Gerry Powlik
1973-74           Lloyd Edwards
1974-76           Doris Hahn
1976-78           Kerry Gibbs
1978-80           Peter Thomson
1980-82           Peter Ellis
1982-84           Moira MacKenzie
1984-86           Brian Porter
1986-88           David Chudnovsky
1988-90           Stewart Schon
1990-92           Margie Willers
1992-93           Bob Rosen
1993-96           Kelly Shields
1996-99           Peter Ellis
1999-2002       John Wyndham
2002-2007       John Wadge
2007-2008       Kerry Richardson
2008-2012       Denise Moffatt